Home


Welcome


Apartment

Rates

Booking

Friends

City-Info
empty.gif ivy entrance empty.gif
empty.gif

Design-Apartment

The "Servitenviertel"

Vienna

Map & Public Transport

Driving Directions & Trip Planner

About us


Find Vienna vacation rentals on FlipKey

Read my reviews





WELCOME

Vienna

„Wien Wien nur du allein, sollst stets die Stadt meiner Träume sein...“

In the 1st Century AD, the Romans built a military camp near the Danube on the site of Vienna's city center, affiliated with the civilian city Vindobona.

The Romans remained until the 5th Century. Even today one can recognize the walls and the streets of the camp on the streets of the 1st District (Inner City).

The city was the imperial capital and residence city of the Habsburgs for centuries and developed to a cultural and political center of Europe at this time.

The old city of Vienna, still showing evidence of the Habsburg rule, and the Schönbrunn Palace were recognized at the request of the Republic of Austria by UNESCO as a World Heritage Site. St. Stephen's Cathedral, besides the Big Wheel in the Prater and many other attractions, is one of Vienna's landmarks and stands as one of the tallest buildings in the city.


Culture

Museums and collections that have world-class art were built in the city, and here there is also the oldest still existing university in the German-speaking world.

Of international importance is the Viennese music scene, which is dominated today by notable composers and musicians. The Viennese Waltz, the Vienna Boys Choir, musical events like New Year's Concert of the Vienna Philharmonic and the Vienna Opera Ball, but also the opera houses and theaters are very well known. Vienna is also regarded for its contributions to German literature and architecture.

Important trends have been or are the Viennese Classical Music, the Vienna School (music), the Second Viennese School of Music, the Vienna Circle of Philosophy, the Vienna Group of Literature or the Vienna School of Fantastic Realism in Painting.

Across Europe, the period around 1900, known as the Viennese Modernism, takes the cultural, artistic and scientific pre-eminence of Vienna into account.

The current cultural scene in the city, with concert halls, galleries, exhibition halls, theaters, festivals and many others is very diversified. Also gastronomy shows a varied culture. Especially with the traditional Viennese Coffeehouse, the Viennese cuisine and the Viennese winegrowing.


Viennese Coffeehouse

A special feature of the Viennese culture is the Viennese Coffeehouse, in which they are serving a variety of specialty coffees and snacks - above all: cakes!

Many visitors take the opportunity to read for hours on the often abundant variety of disposed newspapers during their stay. In addition to many modern coffee bars, Italian or American style, there are many "real" Viennese coffeehouses that have preserved in supply, equipment and style the original charm of this institution. The first coffeehouse in Vienna was founded in 1685 by the Armenian Johannes Diodato.


» Top of Page

Imprint |Updated 13.3.2014

Roter Löwe Design-Apartment
Roten Löwen Design-Apartment Ferienwohnung Wien
Ferienwohnung Wien
Willkommen

Holiday Vienna
Apartment
Appartment Wien
Preise
Appartment Vienna
Buchung
Ferienwohnung Wien
Freunde
Listed on Tripadvisor
Wien-Info
empty.gif ivy entrance empty.gif
empty.gif

Design-Apartment

Servitenviertel

Wien

Lageplan

Anreise & Routenplaner

Über uns



Read my reviews





WILLKOMMEN

Wien

„Wien Wien nur du allein, sollst stets die Stadt meiner Träume sein...“

Im 1. Jahrhundert n. Chr. legten die Römer an der Stelle des heutigen Wiener Stadtzentrums nahe der Donau ein Militärlager mit der angeschlossenen Zivilstadt Vindobona an.

Noch heute kann man an den Straßenzügen des 1. Bezirks (Innere Stadt), den Mauerverlauf und die Straßen des Lagers erkennen. Die Römer blieben bis ins 5. Jahrhundert.

Die Stadt war jahrhundertelang kaiserliche Reichshaupt- und Residenzstadt der Habsburger und entwickelte sich in dieser Zeit zu einem kulturellen und politischen Zentrum Europas.

Die Altstadt Wiens, die nach wie vor von der Habsburger Herrschaft zeugt, sowie das Schloss Schönbrunn wurden auf Antrag der Republik Österreich von der UNESCO als Weltkulturerbe anerkannt. Der Stephansdom, neben dem Riesenrad im Prater und vielen anderen Sehenswürdigkeiten eines der Wahrzeichen Wiens, steht als eines der höchsten Bauwerke der Stadt und als Metropolitankirche im Zentrum von Wien.


Kultur

In der Stadt wurden Museen und Sammlungen errichtet, die Kunstwerke von Weltrang besitzen; hier befindet sich auch die älteste bis heute bestehende Universität im deutschen Sprachraum.

Von internationaler Bedeutung ist das Wiener Musikschaffen, das bis heute von prominenten Komponisten und Musikern geprägt ist. Der Wiener Walzer, die Wiener Sängerknaben, musikalische Großveranstaltungen wie das Neujahrskonzert der Wiener Philharmoniker oder der Wiener Opernball, aber auch die Opernhäuser und Theater sind sehr bekannt. Angesehen ist Wien auch wegen seiner Beiträge zur deutschsprachigen Literatur und zur Baukultur.

Wichtige Strömungen bzw. Zirkel waren oder sind etwa die Wiener Klassik, die Wiener Schule (Musik), die Zweite Wiener Schule der Musik; der Wiener Kreis der Philosophie, die Wiener Gruppe der Literatur, die Wiener Schule des Phantastischen Realismus in der Malerei, die Österreichische Schule der Wirtschaftstheorie.

Europaweit wird die Zeit um 1900 als Wiener Moderne bezeichnet, womit der damaligen kulturellen, künstlerischen und wissenschaftlichen Vormachtstellung Wiens Rechnung getragen wird.

Die aktuelle Kulturszene der Stadt ist mit Konzerthallen, Galerien, Ausstellungshäusern, Bühnen, Festivals und vielem anderen sehr abwechslungsreich. Auch die Gastronomiekultur ist vielseitig ausgerichtet. Besonders traditionell jedoch mit dem Wiener Kaffeehaus, der Wiener Küche und dem Wiener Weinbau.


Wiener Kaffeehaus

Eine weitere Besonderheit der Wiener Kultur stellt das Wiener Kaffeehaus dar, in dem neben einer Vielzahl von Kaffeespezialitäten auch kleine Speisen serviert werden.

Viele Besucher nutzen die Möglichkeit, während ihres Besuchs stundenlang die meist reichlich vorhandenen Zeitungen zu lesen. Neben vielen neueren Kaffeebars italienischen oder amerikanischen Stils, existieren noch viele „echte“ Wiener Kaffeehäuser, die in Angebot, Ausstattung und Stil den ursprünglichen Charme dieser Institution bewahrt haben. Das erste Kaffeehaus Wiens wurde 1685 von dem Armenier Johannes Diodato gegründet.


» zum Seitenanfang

Impressum |Aktualisiert 13. 3. 2014